When in Rome…

When in Rome, do as the Romans do.

Okay, its not all about Pizza…

I have just returned from a short trip to the Italian capital. I must say that Rome is a wonderful city, steeped in history and romance.

During the day I did what all tourists do, and I am very glad that I did.

The outstanding thing about Rome is the preservation of monuments. There are too many to list here, you´ll just have to go and see for yourself. 🙂

During the evenings it was a culinary adventure. When most people think about Italian food, its Pizza and Pasta that is most recognisable. But there is so much more to be enjoyed.

Forget about all those Pizza Deliveries and over-cooked Pasta that are sold and served abroad, the real thing is here.

I made sure that I researched my restaurants beforehand and was not disappointed at all. I went to places that served the most enjoyable pastas. Cooked just right, not covered in sauce like so many places serve, almost semi-naked and chewy with that perfect “bite”. You could actually taste what the pasta maker intended you to taste.

In this day and age where ethnic foods are easily available, I guess that most of us will never taste the “real and original” flavours and textures from these cuisines.

We have been brainwashed for so long by the fast food companies that we consider what they sell to be authentic. It is shameful.

However, if you ever get a chance to visit somewhere, eat where the locals eat, you´ll be glad you did.

I also had the great chance to sample some modern Italian dishes, served up in some of the exclusive award winning restaurants scattered around the city. These chefs really have a vision. They, like us, believe that new cuisine is based on tradition and good quality ingredients.

I would love to list the names of the restaurants here, but then it wouldn’t be my secret anymore…

😉

2 thoughts on “When in Rome…

  1. I was lucky enough to have a friend who used to be a tour guide in Rome.  He recommended a tiny restaurant right near the Pantheon to us.  It was so small we walked by it twice.  We had a fabulous three hour meal there.  Nice and leisurely.  My wife’s artichokes Roman-style were so good I almost ordered them myself (after having finished my first dish.

    And no, I’m not sharing the name 🙂

  2. Aha! yes the small side streets that lead off in to nowhere, often hide culinary treasures.

    I stumbled upon a small hole-in-the-wall selling home made Gelati, not too far from the Pantheon. Out Of This World!

    The area may be touristic, but I know a good Gelato when I taste one… and yes, you´ve guessed it, the name remains with me… 😉

Leave a Reply

