Lobster Sashimi and Kobe Beef

This week we made some Banh Xeo, also known as Vietnamese Crepes.

Banh Xeo Laocook

Filled with a mixture of Pork and Ear Mushrooms, and served with a little Sweet Chilli Sauce, these went down really well. The Banh Xeo were cut in to 5cm discs, making them a nice sized Amuse Bouche.

(The Laocooks wrapped whole Banh Xeo´s and ate them as dinner, with loads of Bean Sprouts and Chilli Oil! 😉 )

***

A 900g Lobster found its way to our chopping boards. There has been a lot said about eating Lobster Sashimi. There are people against it, and people who love it.

Lobster Sashimi Laocook

Yes, the Lobster is alive and well until dispatched “a la minute”. Some people find that cruel, but hey, Chicken is alive and pecking before being dispatched too… 😯

The Lobster Roe is removed and briefly boiled and served alongside the tail meat that has been removed, sliced, cleaned and dipped in to ice water.

Lobster Sashimi 2 Laocook

Unless you are eating “Sao Noi Disco” or Oysters, I dont think that you can get “fresher food” than this.

Fresh Lobster Sashimi is expensive in restaurants, and to ensure “freshness” it is normally shown to you before being taken to the kitchens. Perhaps actually seeing your dinner alive before eating it can put some people off, however, to others it just makes their mouths water… yummy… 😉

The reason why the tail meat is given an Ice Bath before serving is to “crisp” up the texture.

After the Sashimi is finished, the head joins the Claw Meat in a tangy and spicy Lobster Tom Yum.

***

Talking about Sashimi´s, we served up some Kobe Beef in the same manner.

Kobe Beef Sashimi Laocook

Yes, its really expensive, but is it worth it? Hell yes! 🙂

There are many grades of Kobe or Wagyu Beef, and many various cuts available. Our cut is the Tenderloin, though most restaurants serve the Sirloin (aesthetically it is better as it shows more of the “marbled meat”).

Our Kobe Sashimi is served as is, with only Wasabi and Soy Sauce as condiments. I believe that there is no need to complicate the taste of such a beautiful ingredient.

Obviously, “lesser cuts” could be made up in to Burgers or Meatballs, but that would be like buying a “replica” Rolex at the Morning Market. 😆

Its easy for restaurants to buy these “lesser cuts”, mince them up with other meats and sell Burgers for 50€ each after calling them “Kobe Burgers”. 🙄

In my opinion, if you want to try Kobe Beef, order the best, you´ll enjoy it more, trust me… 😉

And for those of you who would shudder at the prospect of eating undressed raw meat (yep, the same people who don’t like Lobster Sashimi 😆 ), we also served it grilled.

Kobe Beef Fillet Laocook

The meat must be left out at room temperature for a while before being placed on a grill that is “hot as you dare“. And it should only get briefly acquainted with the heat for a matter of seconds.

Kobe Beef Laocook

This too is served with minimal fuss. A few crystals of Sea Salt to perk it up is all that is needed. Serving such a majestic cut with a sauce (or worse still, a mustard!) is like having a “Barbers shop on the steps of the Guillotine“.

“Short back and sides sir?” 😆

***

Like most Expats here, I find that I miss those foods and drinks that are so common “back home”. Things that most people take for granted.

Luckily, Gibraltar is not too far from here, and I am able to get hold of British items, foods and beverages.

One thing that I really miss is a good pint of Guinness. Okay, its not British, but you know what I mean. 🙂

Some Theme Bars here serve Guinness, but it doesn’t taste the same as sipping a pint in rainy London. So in good old Laocook fashion, I decided to make my own… 😉

With some help from a homebrew kit and lots of “trial and error”, I can now enjoy my Stout whenever I want.

Laocook Stout

All I need now is the Rain! 😎

Laocook Stout, who ever would have thought about that?…. 😉

9 thoughts on “Lobster Sashimi and Kobe Beef

  1. Hello there! I have a question regarding your Kobe meat… is it true that Japanese Kobe meat cannot be imported thus forcing the restaurants that want to offer it to import it from New Zealand?  That is a fact that I have always heard regarding the Wagyu meat and that is really the only reason for which I have never dared to try the meat myself in Madrid. Trust me, it is not some sort of gourmet paranoia, I just feel a lot of respect for the method used of how the Kobe meat ends up being what it is.
    By the way, in my neighbourhood, there used to be a restaurant which served a Kobe meat hamburger which was worth 80€ or so… the restaurant was superb but I refused to try to burger even though I could not try if I chose to change my mind since the restaurant closed half a year ago.
    Cheers!
    PS: I can tell how subtle must be your Lobster sashimi…
     
     
     
     
     

  2. Any chance you could share some info on your homebrew beer brewing kit and the stout beer recipe? 🙂

    I’m guessing you need some kind of refrigiration for the homebrew kit you have, as far as i know, anything purchasable online, as far as homebrew kits go, needs to actually be stored inside a refrigirator?

    Some info would be appreciated.

  3. Hola Pan,

    I am not quite sure about the import regulations from Japan, but I have it on very good authority that the best stuff never leaves the country. However, there are farms closer to home than NZ.

    Hola Black,

    Nice website. Unfortunately I cannot read Slovene, but the photos look very nice. Send me your email address if you want more information about the Stout.

  4. Lao, thanks. Mail me at black [at] scene-si [dot] org, and I hope you have some pictures of the homebrew kit 🙂

    If you need some thing translated from slovene, I’m happy to do it. I’ve been meaning to do it for a while now, but i have somewhere around 200 recipes published, and i just dont have the time. I’ll probablly pay some student to do it, one day. There’s nothing hardcore in there tho, I’m still learning 🙂

  5. The meat is sliced very thin, and on the Tenderloin there isnt much fat compared to the other cuts. Though saying that, I can see how some people would hesitate at eating raw meat fat, thats why only a few slices are served, and anyway, its not everyday you get to eat some Kobe Beef! 😉
    BTW, Nice link to the Morels. 🙂
     
     

  6. Pingback: laocook » Blog Archive » Wine.

  7. Pingback: laocook » Blog Archive » In a Pickle

Leave a Reply

