Laocook Team Uploaded Pics from Laoplanet.net

We have decided to share with you some of our earlier work which I originally posted at Laoplanet.net.

Yum of Cuttlefish. There are tons of Cuttlefish and Squid to be found at the markets here. Mostly we like to score the slices of Cuttlefish and Wok fry them with Spicy Salt & Pepper. This time I had decided to cut the Cuttlefish to resemble Noodles (when just cooked just right, they have similar textures).

Vermicelli Salad with Tiger Prawn and Tamarind and Chilli Dressing. The sauce is a great clash of Sweet, Sour and Spicy. We remove the seeds from the Chilli before making the sauce. The Tiger Prawn is shelled, cleaned and simply wrapped in a Spring Roll Sheet, it is deep fried just before serving and adds a Crunchy addition to the dressed Vermicelli.

Steamed Sea Bass with Ginger and Tiger Prawns. The Sea Bass is a very fragile fish, and shouldn’t be served if overcooked. The Prawns have been slow cooked in Sake and Sweet Soy sauce, just until half cooked, otherwise like the fish, the texture will be lost if overdone. Fast steaming is the key to cooking fish, the water should be boiling rapidly, that way it quickly seals the lovely juices inside the fish.

Chicken Wings with 4 Sauces. This dish is an example of what Lao Cook Team is all about. The bringing together of Cultures and Recipes. The first sauce is a favourite of the staff, is a Laotian Tomato & Coriander Chutney (Jéow Mak Len), the second is a wonderfully aromatic Roasted Mushroom Puree, which is basically a New Style version of Jéow Mak Het. Japanese influence plays a role in the Miso and Poached Garlic Sauce and Red Sauce, made with Sesame and Peppers with a host of Sour Plums.

Dtom Khem with Spring Chicken and Quail Eggs. I still love a bowl of steaming rice with Dtom Khem, the sweet tasting sauce mixed with the white grains of rice were always a treat. Mostly made from Pork cuts, Dtom Khem obtains its colour from the caramelising of sugar, adding ginger cuts the taste and wont make the Dtom Khem overly sweet. We use Spring Chicken, aka Poussin, the meat is tender and absorbs the sauce flavourings well. Seeing as we use small poultry, it is only fitting that we add Quail Eggs to the recipe.

Our fascination with “Imitating” other foods continues with our Milk Udon with Pineapple and White Pepper Soup. Milk Jelly is cut to resemble Japanese Udon noodles, the sweet refreshing taste of the Pineapple (which is ice cold) is pricked with White Pepper “juice”, which adds an interesting concept to almost confuse the taste buds, you can taste the Pepperness without the actual presence of Pepper grains. This dish was realised with the help of our Japanese Pastry Chef, Akiyama Mansanori.

Akiyama also plays an important part in our Green Tea Parfait with Jasmine Mascarpone Cream. This iced desert is creamy and a little heavy with the addition of the Mascarpone, but sometimes you have to spoil yourself. It is made even more rich with the addition of Sugar Rings, made with Sugar, Water and Spanish Vinegar. This desert would later be changed and evolve in to our Green Tea Tiramisu, minus the Sugar Rings.

2 thoughts on “Laocook Team Uploaded Pics from Laoplanet.net

  1. Looks very tasty and so beautifull, if I go to Europe one day I hope that I will have time to visit your restaurant Vienne.

    I try the tom khem yesterday and I din’t really like it, its not the same impression I had when I Was 20 years old, I think it was too sweet, and by the way I am the one who is cooking and I have to taste it all the time so I have that sugar stick to my tongue. I think it will ones awhile I do this dish. 🙂

  2. Whenever I eat Dtom Khem, I think of the time when I was in the second grade. One of my aunt visited our family and she took me on her bike to Talat Nong Duang, at least I think that is the name. We were living not too far from the Patuxay and all the old wats in the area. All I can recall is lots of water everywhere. The market was very busy and I was excited to get a sweet treat.

    My aunt bougth a few bags of dtom khem from this lady for dinner. The lady sold dtom khem in big pots that look like buckets to me. It was the best dtom khem I ever ate in my life.

    For several years now I have craving for a treat that I don’t know the name. Whenever my grandmother visited us, she would walk me to the intersection of Wat Thatluang. There was a lady there that made this treat using soybeans and flour. She would pour the flour mixture into this cube ladle and then the crushed soybeans and some more flour mixture. She then puts the ladle in a pot of hot oil.

    My memory is not good but I think she had to bring the ladle out and add the ingredients and place it back in the boiling oil until the ladle is full. Perhaps it is to cook the khanom each layer at a time.

    If I ever go to Laos, I will hunt down this khanom and I hope it tates as good as when I was a little kid. 🙂

Leave a Reply

