The Feast of Many Names

I am passionate about Lobsters, especially feasting on them.

The Spiny Lobster, also known as Rock Lobster, Crawfish or Sea Crayfish lacks claws, but other than that, it is similar to a normal large Lobster. The fine specimen below is a wonderful 7 coloured Spiny Lobster, considered a prize catch and honoured guest in the Steamer.

7colour.jpg
Looks like something from Outer Space instead of Deep Sea.

7colour2.jpg

7colour3.jpg
King shows off our Guest in his full glory

7colour4.jpg
Careful!, don’t let him get away…

I think that steaming is the best way to enjoy this crustacean, especially when it is super fresh. I have no qualms with killing food, especially if I am going to be eating it. Our Guest weighed in at 2½ kilos.

7colour5.jpg
To serve, I have simply split it in to two.

7colour6.jpg
The meat is easier to remove whilst it is still warm. I usually eat my Lobsters with a simple Spicy & Sour (Chilli, Garlic, Fish Sauce, Lime Juice) dipping sauce, or a Tangy Hot Mayonnaise based dip.

7colour7.jpg
Whatever name you want to call it, all I know is, it is divine 🙂

One thought on “The Feast of Many Names

  1. I am starting to believe that the active working model model for the movie Alien was a Lobster. What a strange appearing creature!

Leave a Reply

